RTM users have the ability to close, but not delete, their petitions. You can contact us by clicking ‘Contact Support’ at the top of the page with a request to have your petition permanently deleted from our platform.
To get started, we ask that you post an update to inform your supporters of the decision to delete the petition, for maintenance of transparency. In this update you can also let them know the reason you are asking for your petition to be deleted.
If your petition is active you can post an update by following these steps:
Log in to your RTM account and locate your petition
Once you have been redirected to the main petition page, click on the “Petition details” menu (upper right-hand corner)
Select “Post an update”
If your petition is closed this needs to be accomplished by using the “Post an update” option at the bottom of the petition page.
Then contact our Help Center team from the email address you used to create the petition with the following information:
Link to the petition you would like removed
Verification that you have informed the petition supporters
Please note that this will permanently remove the petition from RTM, but it may still be indexed by search engines (such as Google). After receiving notice that your petition has been removed, you can either wait for search engines to re-index the website, or you can actively request that it be re-indexed:
Google’s form is here
Bing’s form is here